French court: Use of the word 'Torrent' shows bad intent

vbimport

French court: Use of the word ‘Torrent’ shows bad intent.

[newsimage]http://static.rankone.nl/images_posts/2011/06/t1fXBZ.jpg[/newsimage]An administrator for two BitTorrent-related websites who was arrested in 2008 on allegations of copyright infringement and profiting from site advertising by trade group SACEM has been fined $29,000 by a French Court of Appeal, despite the fact that the court was unable to prove that illegal downloads took place and the sites did not receive any ad money.

Read the full article here: [http://www.myce.com/news/french-court-use-of-the-word-torrent-shows-bad-intent-46181/](http://www.myce.com/news/french-court-use-of-the-word-torrent-shows-bad-intent-46181/)

Please note that the reactions from the complete site will be synched below.

TorrentTorrentTorrentTorrentTorrentTorrentTorrentTorrentTorrent

Take that france

To the Guillotine with you!!!

Well, the folks in France will have to find another name for the process by which many completely legal distributions of software, such as Linux distros, are distributed.

Judicial idiots.

It really just depends on what the definition of “is” is…:wink:

[QUOTE=olyteddy;2591211]It really just depends on what the definition of “is” is…;)[/QUOTE] Well in Denmark, “is” means either “ice” or “icecream”. Perhaps that is [sic] what confused Mr. Clinton? :stuck_out_tongue:

Maybe the French judge thinks that use of “torrents” make bad [I]internet[/I], and the translation is [sic] wrong? :smiley:

Just thought I’d share my torrent of wisdom with you. :iagree: Ooops! :doh:

BTW if you think the above post was silly, then my excuse is that the French judge started it! :bigsmile:

The tactics work…buy off the judges, drag out the court cases till the defendants have no money left to fight with. And set a stupid precedent that will be used later.

This game is fixed folks.