Freezing durring playback?

vbimport

I am still learning about this hobby, but I have noticed on some of my backups durring playback they tend to lock up or freeze for about 30sec’s. Is this because the movie files are too big for the single layer disks and it has to compress so much to fit them on? Or is it maybe poor quality disks? Or maybe my stock burner is not that great?

Also,

I am wondering if most of you use dual dvd drives, one to read the other to write? I am thinking about picking up a better burner drive and just adding it to my tower. Then I can use the new one strickly for burning. :confused:

Thanks in advance for the info…

Hi loot24 and welcome to cdfreaks.

All of your questions are good ones and they are all possibilities
The two most frequent causes for the problems you describe are poor quality media (also poor compatibility) and inappropriate burn speeds…usually too fast, but not always. As you’ve figured out by now, there can be many factors that impact this process.
Without knowing details such as the MID (media code), burner and firmware, burn speed, etc., etc., it’s tough to provide specific advice, but here’s a try…

Use quality media such as Taiyo Yuden or Verbatim.
Try lowering your burn speed…maybe try 4X.
There are a number of other things to try and do, but try this first.
Are these errors reproducible during playback on your burner?..your player?
Are you able to view these movies off your hdd without freezing?
Are these errors more frequent toward the end of the movie?..anything specific or any commonality noted?
If you could post back with some details, we’ll be in a much better position to help.

Oh and yes, many of us use multiple optical drives, not a necessity, but very nice!
For the MID, just download and run Nero CD-DVD Speed (click on the link).

Hope this helps

Hi loot24
You may find that if you make the following changes in common settings it will take care of most problems during playback