Freeview Recording transfer?

vbimport

Hi all, i am new to this but you all seem very helpful

Treat me like an absolute novice:doh:

I own a Thomson Digital Freeview Recoreder (it has a usb port at the front) and i would like to know:

1. What hardware can i use to connect my freeview recorder to my laptop?

2. How do i transfer it to my laptop?

3. What can i expect on my screen?

4. Do i need any software? And what for?

I don’t know what format the transferred files will be in but i’d like to transfer them to my phone (which supports MPEG/WMV/Flash video types) as well.

1. Can anyone tell me what software (preferably free, or cheap) i can get which would convert if i need to?

2. And which format would least compromise quality?

Thank you for helping me in advance…sorry about all the questions, even if you know the answer to just one please please say

:smiley: Thanks a million

Hello [B]niall_dun[/B] and welcome to CD Freaks :slight_smile:

Could you tell us what model number your Thomson recorder is please?

Freeview recordings are a form of MPEG2 recordings which I suspect your phone will not play directly, and would probably be a waste of phone memory since they’ll be relatively large files.

Most phones play video in the .mp4 container format, which is usually the video encoded to XviD and the audio to AAC. Since all you will have is a file - rather than a DVD or disc image - you can make the conversion with freeware programs such as ‘Super’ or ‘AutoGK’. It may take a little while for the conversion, depending on your PC hardware.

Phones have such small screens that you can compress the video down quite a lot. If you also let us know which phone you have, and maybe the screen size in pixels (eg 320 x 240), then we might be able to help better.

[QUOTE=imkidd57;2162117]Hello [B]niall_dun[/B] and welcome to CD Freaks :slight_smile:

Could you tell us what model number your Thomson recorder is please?