Freeing my DVD Rom's region

Hi, I’m not sure how I am supposed to do this as I’ve never started a thread (posted a message) before, so please forgive any errors in protocol or whatever :confused: .
I am new to computer owning, and I am trying to make my DVD Rom region free.
I have managed to fix the hardware (thanks to a lot of the posts on this website, very helpful :clap: ), but am having trouble with the software side of things as I am completely ignorant as to how to go about doing it safely.
I have Windows XP, and I’m not sure what my DVD software is (or how to find out, see how clueless I am :rolleyes: ).
My two main questions at this point are:

1. Is there away to fix both the DVD software and the operating software in one go?
  2. If I understand it correctly, there are two types of software. One that lets you manipulate the counter and one that restarts the counter everytime you shutdown and start the computer back up. Am I correct in this understanding and if so, which is better?? :eek:

Please help me :bow:
itwannab

PS. Thank you in advance for any replies :flower:

try Dvd Region Killer.U can also make your rom drive region free by flashing it if u dare try it…my toshiba 1612 i did it to,works fine.

Really?? I had looked at that, but I was sure that I read somewhere that it is best not to use that with Windows XP. I can’t remember the exact reason though.
What about Genie?

Use AnyDVD to make your DVD-ROM region free. It is a good software, actually a driver running in the background.

You can read more about nit here: http://www.slysoft.com/en/anydvd.html

So, if I understand this right, it doesn’t alter the current software on the computer, but makes the software believe that it is the correct region??