Format CD-R with XP?

Howdy!

I am a newbie, so let me introduce myself a little. I live in Colorado Springs, I am Dutch, I have my own business ‘The ComputerNanny’, single mom, do way too much, but what the hey!

Got a new computer last year, a Dell Dimension 8300 with both CD-ROM and a NEC DVD+RW ND-1100A. Had a major problem with Roxio corrupting my registry (which I have seen before with Win2K server), so rebuilt the darn thing, and never re-installed Roxios.

So, couple of things. I hoped that XP could just write to the CD burner, but it cannot. Had DELL on the phone for 1.5 hrs, they said, you need to buy formatted CDs, but that sounded like a cop-out. Looked to see if I can format the CD-R or CD-RW I have, but apparently XP doesn’t have that capability (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/279157/EN-US/):

'Support for the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) Image
The CD-RW recording feature that is built in to the Windows XP shell
does not support the creation of an International Standards Organization
(ISO) image. To create an ISO image in Windows XP, you need to install a
third party utility that supports this feature.

An ISO image file is a snapshot of the data and layout of a CD-ROM, saved
in ISO-9660 format. ISO image files are widely used for storing CD content.
ISO is a common CD image format for DOS, Windows (Joliet ISO extension),
Linux (RockRidge ISO extension), and other operating systems. "

So it looks like I need some type of software anyway… which doesn’t seem right.

My questions are:

• Do I really need a 3rd party app to be able to write CD-R on my NEC? If not, what can I do. I am cheap, I want it for free if I can.
  • If I do need 3rd party, I’d like to be able to do slideshows /w music, what software would you recommend? I’ve been looking at NERO, but don’t really know what else is available. Please help!

thanks a bunch!
ComputerNanny