Forced Subtitles

Hi Guys
I am a newbie to the list but am reasonably competetent with computers and burning but I am having a problem which is driving me totally mad. It is to do with the forced subtitles which are used in films such as “The sum of All Fears and also The Hunt for Red October”. The subtitles are translations of the russian being spoken by the actors. I have decripted the film only files from the original DVD’s and then used DVD2one V1.1.3. I select the film only, 6ch sound, and all the english subtitles. If I then burn using CopytoDVD it runs great but I have to manually select the subtitle stream to enable the forced subtitles to appear. These appear on the original without any user intervention. Why the difference? I have tried to copy the stream which contains the forced subtitle only but it still doesn’t work. I have trawled the faq, and all the previous thread histories and have tried all the suggested options but to no avail. I have tried the modifications to the ifo files but nothing seems to work. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Try selecting All subtitles (they don’t take up much space anyway) and let me know what happens then.

-Pete

It doesent seem to make any difference. Any ideas how to identify which stream contains the forced subtitles without viewing the entire movie and physically trying them all? :slight_smile: If I can do this at least I can make a note in the title sleeve which stream to have switched on when viewing.

Hey–I sure would like a feature/sub-program for D2O movie-only that would identify the forced-sub-only and insert/enable just that!
I know subs are small, but it bugs me to include English on my copies when they may or may not even be useful (also, on some players it really bugs people to have to enter ‘subs-off’ on the remote on viewing copies…). Many players won’t let you really disable dvd-r subs in their Set-Ups…

Originally posted by Dunkeld
Hi Guys