Fooling my DVD player

vbimport

does anyone know how to fool a dvd player into thinking a copied dvd is an original real one??? and how does it recognise it is anyway? and why are copied dvd’s purple on the back and real ones white?? oh and please explain to me like im an idiot because im new to this game guys, thanks :bigsmile:

Well, no fooling necessary. Any recent decent-quality DVD player should be able to read DVDs you burned (copied) without problems. You would need to use DVD+R or DVD-R discs. You may find some older players may not recognize DVD-R discs…

As far as the colors. Do not worry. Commercial Hollywood-type movies are “white” (as you call it) because they are factory pressed-- not burned in the way we do it. The discs you see are purple simply because that’s the reflection of the dye color.

Carlreed, I think I found your problem. From reading your earlier posts (where you asked this same question a few times), you say you can only burn onto DVD-R discs. In another thread, you said your Dad’s DVD player cannot read the discs you burned, but they play fine on yours. I feel VERY confident that your Dad has a very old DVD player. Maybe Toshiba brand?

Many stand alone DVD players that came out 4+ years WILL NOT read DVD-R media…only DVD+R media (due to bitsetting of the booktype…but you probably don’t need to know the behind-the-scenes reason).

I’m thinking your solution involves you doing one of two things. Either:[ul][li]Get a DVD burner that allows you to burn DVD+R discs, or
[/li][li]Go get a new DVD player for your Dad.[/ul]
[/li]Enjoy.

Or better both!