Flashing Firmware

vbimport

Newbie here:

I have a IOMagic portable DVD writer (the guts are an LG GT10N) which uses an USB connection. The firmware is LG 1.00. Can it be flashed to the Dell A106 firmware or any other firmware? The reason I am asking is that I need to set the booktype to DVD-ROM, which I cannot do currently.

Sorry for the lack of knowledge, but where do i find it but asking the professionals!

Thanks

If you would make a backup of your firmware first and post it here… original firmwares are rare…

the program that can do it is
http://sourceforge.net/projects/flasher/files/

theres a console version and a gui version that is based on gtk

if you going to run the gtk version install the runtime from here.
http://gtk-win.sourceforge.net/home/index.php/en/Home

[QUOTE=devilsclaw;2466539]If you would make a backup of your firmware first and post it here… original firmwares are rare…

the program that can do it is
http://sourceforge.net/projects/flasher/files/

theres a console version and a gui version that is based on gtk

if you going to run the gtk version install the runtime from here.
http://gtk-win.sourceforge.net/home/index.php/en/Home[/QUOTE]

Ok - so downloaded both the GTK runtime, and loaded the dump utility. It will not dump, and gets a “not responding” message.

Could be due to the USB connection?

I’m clueless and not afraid to admit it…

Here is what I did:
Downloaded GTK, downloaded Flasher utility. Installed both. Ran flasher.exe and attempted to dump. Program hangs…No dump file created…

It can take a while to seek out the correct info from the drive and it will get the not responding message during that time… if it takes over 10 minutes in the not responding then i need to find out more info on your drive.

Running it now…I will leave it up for 20 minutes…