Flashing firmware

(I posted this in the newbie forum but it was suggested I post here instead)

Hi,

After reading posts on the forums I’ve purchased an external hi-val (I/O magic) HDVD168DLME. This has been reported many times as a Benq1640.
I have read that you must re-flash using the benq firmware.

Now how does one go about doing this?

I’ve looked over the river and through the woods but cannot seem to find any specific tutorial about the actual proceedure.

All that write about flashing f/w just say that they did it, nobody ever says how.

If you try to flash with the wrong firmware do you end up with junk?
How can you tell what f/w your burner has to begin with?

I’m brand new to this stuff… so be kind. :bow:

Thanks
Bob

>If ain’t broken, don’t fix it.< :slight_smile:

“Reflashing” the drive is not necessary for proper function.
Some like to crossflash this drive with BenQ external firmware, but this might void your warranty.

Do a search for HDVD168DLME and you’ll get quite many ideas how to proceed.

BTW, what is your current firmware?

klink1956: Welcome to the forum. :slight_smile:

As pinto2 said, please verify what is your current firmware to make sure it’s a BenQ rebadge. You can use Nero CD-DVD Speed (click here or here) or Quikee’s WOPC Tools (click here) to check the firmware. It is the last four digits on the drive/device info. Some reported it has GSHB or GSLB firmware. What’s yours?

If it is a BenQ rebadge then you can crossflash your HiVal to BenQ but I would first ask HiVal customer support about updating the firmware. I read that someone asked HiVal support and was directed to the BenQ DW1640/EW164B firmware page. Also ask them regarding the warranty if it’s going to void your warranty or not.

If you are certain it’s a BenQ, here is how to crossflash:

• Connect your drive to your computer.
  • Download BenQ EW164B latest firmware BEGB from here. Unzip BEGB.EXE and save it in your harddrive.