Flashing and burning speed

vbimport

Hi guys:
I have a Sony model #DW-U18A 8x single-layer DVD burner, and I just did the flashing/conversion found in this page:

Everything went smoothly, so no complaint there.

I had an old PC, and the burner was working fine, burning at high speed (8x). I recently switch to a newer PC, and from day 1 the burner could only burn at 2.4x. The USB is 2.0, and with the firmware update, I thought I was going to correct the problem; it just remain the same.
Since Im a newbie in all of this, I wonder why cant I burn my dvd-r’s at more than 2.4x ?? :confused:

thx in advance.

Hi :slight_smile:

This is the signature that the drive is not set to DMA access.
Go to Windows’ device manager, IDE controllers, whatever IDE channel you connected the drive to, properties, select “DMA if available” and reboot.

Report if this solves the problem. If it doesn’t, there are other things to try :slight_smile:

it has always been in the “DMA if available” option.
what other things can I try?
thx for the help.

“The USB is 2.0” - just seen this :o
Is it an external USB drive then?

yep

Then sorry, it’s out of my range :o - I’m at ease with IDE drives issues, but external drives ones are like chinese to me :doh:
Good luck :slight_smile:

when I click Properties, any other external drive shows “Location: Location 0(USB2.0 Storage Device)” for example.
The external burner shows “Location: Location 0(USB TO IDE)”
Maybe this has something to do with it.