Flashing a Sony 810A to a BenQ 1640

Hello all,

I would first like to say that I am relatively new at the entire DVD Burner scene and have been learning a lot about them within very short amounts of time. I already have bought my very first burner… the Sony 810A. I would have bought the BenQ 1640, but I could not find it in local retail stores, so I settled down with Sony 810A knowing that it is still a drive just like BenQ 1640, except that it doesnt have the speed thingy and the Solid Burn feature.

But now I am reading and looking up on ?crossflashing? the Sony 810A to become a BenQ 1640.

I want to do this, and want all the exact steps and exact tools I need to use.

I am also somewhat afraid of breaking my DVD Burner.

Will someone please post on how to do this, and also answer a couple questions? Please be very exact and very precise… I know this may have been asked before, but I want exact and specific directions which I have yet to find.

Has this been done before successfully?

Is there a chance of having my burner break? If so, what chance would I be taking?

With this crossflash thing… will it make my burner EXACTLY like the BenQ 1640? (Besides the names on it / way it is decorated on the outside)

I really really do not want to get myself into a predicament where I will be taking some kind of chances and have the possibility of a permanently damaged driver. The main reason I am doing this is because of SolidBurn… I want very reliable burns and the highest quality on them… I am using good media (Verbatims) and have a good burner… i want to burn them in the best way and I believe SolidBurn writes my media in the best quality (right?).

********If you are giving me directions, please make sure that you are including everything I need to have my Benq 1640 (after the flash) updated with the latest and greatest firmware/software/etc.

ALL HELP IS GREATLY APPRECIATED IN ADVANCE

you should post this in the benq forum.

Hi :slight_smile:
Take a look here.