Flashing a NEC ND-6100A

Greetings all, I am a noob here and am a little confused on how to go about flashing my NEC ND-6100A to a 6500.

My current machine is a Dell Inspiron 9100 running XP. My internal drive is a NEC DVD+RW ND-6100A which came with the machine. I recently began trying to back up my DVD collection using DVD Decrypter, DVD Shrink and AnyDVD. The problem I am having with my drive is that I can’t create DVD-ROM’s which I was hoping to do. After some research I found that I need to flash my current drive to a 6500a but I am just not 100% sure on how to do that.

Before I do the wrong thing and mess up my drive I would like to get some info from those of you who have done this or helped others.

I found the following links but am unsure if its what I need:
Binflash Is this what I need to use to flash my drive?

Is one of these the FirmWare I need to flash to? If so which one?

What about this site I found, is one of these the correct FW versions? http://www.micheldeboer.nl/firmware/6500.html

Sorry for such a long post, I just wanted to get this right and not destroy my burner. Thanks in advance :smiley:

No burner can create DVD-ROMs, they are pressed.
Probably you meant DVD+R with booktype DVD-ROM.

What is the firmware on your drive (find it out by using DVDInfo or Nero Infotool)?

chef, your right, I ment DVD+R with booktype DVD-ROM. My current 6100a can’t do that which is why I am thinking about flashing to 6500a.

As for the firmware, I am not sure where I can download either of those programs for free so any help in that would be great. I do have DVD Identifier on my CPU and this is what comes up in the D drive: _NEC DVD +RW ND-6100A [FW 104D]

thanks again for the help

Bump…anyone?

You can use a TDB package to crossflash your drive to an 6500: http://tdb.rpc1.org/#ND6500A

Thank you chef for your help. So is this the correct way to go about this? Like I said I want to be 100% sure I am doing this correctly :slight_smile: