First DVD Quality Test on my new BenQ DW1650. Any good?

Hey fellow BenQ/Phillips owners,

This is my 1st ever post, and I’m just a newbie in the world of burn quality testing as I’ve only just taken delivery of my new 1650 drive :smiley: :smiley:

This burn was using 8x store branded UME01 discs. I know they’re cheapo, but i’m looking to buy some TYG02’s soon (unless anybody has some more cash friendly alternatives)

Could anyone tell me if these scans are any good? I burnt encoded DVD Video files at 8x using Nero, and kept the file size down to avoid the outer edge of the disc.

Thanks

Welcome!

Never heard from UME01 disks before, but the writing quality seems to be good!

UME discs are poor quality cheap media. But with the right burner it can give good results.
Your scan is very typical of this type of disc, a pretty good burn overall.

Here is what you should be looking for:

PIE Max Under: 280
PIF Max Under: 16
PO Failures: 0
Jitter should be under 12%

This is just a guideline though, as long as the transfer rate test is smooth you shouldnt have too many problems.

PS: 8x is the scanning speed you should use on a BenQ

Hi :slight_smile:
Welcome to the forum godedd. :iagree:
I can only echo TOSHIBAers’ post.
At present MCC 16x media is better than Taiyo Yuden. This will change with f/w updates as TY 16x is the new kid on the block.
8x & 12x TY seems to have an edge in the quality stakes over MCC.
These differences are marginal & either is an excellent choice.

Thanks guys, I also have some Ritek G05’s that i’ve just bought which are absolutely useless. Is it reasonable for me to take it up with the site i bought them from (SVP) or is it just my stupid fault for not doing enough research?

Take it up with SVP if you want. They have excellent customer service, im sure they will get it sorted if you want to exchange them for somthing else. Ritek G05 is crap.