Filesharing polution: The next weapon of the RIAA?

vbimport

I just posted the article Filesharing polution: The next weapon of the RIAA ?.

Salon.com has an intresting article on P2P networks that could shed a light on a possible strategy of the record industry to make filesharing a lot less attractive.

By poluting the network with…

Read the full article here:  [http://www.cdfreaks.com/news/4031-Filesharing-polution-The-next-weapon-of-the-RIAA-.html](http://www.cdfreaks.com/news/4031-Filesharing-polution-The-next-weapon-of-the-RIAA-.html)

Feel free to add your comments below. 

Please note that the reactions from the complete site will be synched below.

RIAA: ever heard of CRC ?

I’m not a lawyer, but isn’t there some kind of law that would protect companies from intentional acts of destruction from their competition?

Possible solutions, 1. Go to www.allmusic.com or another suitable site that gives you the duration of the song, match it to the file you are downloading. 2. Get your album rips off reputable groups on IRC.

Ooops, I forgot #3. If they are going to piss in our pool, so to speak, then we go to their places of business and start slashing tires and breaking car windows.

Yup hashing files will help make sure that the file you are getting is right. And we will start to get web pages that list the files by hash. Something similar to eDonkey2000.

This is a very intersting news story. I believe that Interscope has been using this tactic for some time now. About 2 months ago I D/Led the new No Doubt album Rock Steady. The song lengths were all correct but the songs were not complete. They looped a 30 second portion of each song over and over to produce the exact right track length. Of course I have not seen this problem in newsgroups just on the Kazaa network.

I downloaded “Without Me” off Kazaa before the album came out…the song was just the chorus repeating OVER and OVER again. And then I found the REAL file…FUCKERS!