Files found on the DVD

vbimport

OK - I’m very new at this. I use AnyDVD and CloneDVD2 and find them easy to use and very reliable.

But…

When I need to remove some files from the source DVD (so it fits on a standard DVD) there are files that a bit confusing to understand what they are.

For example: Shark Tale
2 video files
1 with a playtime of 1:26:04, 21 chapters, and audio setings of “AC3/6EN, AC3/6DN, AC3/6NO, AC3/2EN, dcmts1”

Another with 1 with a playtime of 1:23:41, 11 chapters, and audio setings of “AC3/6EN, AC3/6DN, AC3/6NO, AC3/2EN, dcmts1”

Still other files with 0:00 playtime AC3/2EN. There are multiple files with 0:00 playtimes

How do I know what to remove?

I wasted 4 disks with “Fantasia” because the only audio I ended up with was the directors comments. Still not sure what I did to get it right.

TIA: CG

The IFO file/s contain the info on the dvd structure
The BUP file/s are backups of the IFO file/s
The VOB file/s are the actual video
You should d/l and try Dvdshrink (free) this will allow you to rip and compress a dvd to fit on a single blank dvd. If the dvd has one of the new copy protections on it use Dvddecrypter (free) to rip to your hard drive and compress the rip with Dvdshrink. Both excellent tools.

I’m just wondering, how did this answer the main question? What does anything you typed have to do with what the thread maker was asking?

Quote “When I need to remove some files from the source DVD (so it fits on a standard DVD) there are files that a bit confusing to understand what they are.”

As I state above I was explaining what each file is/are.
If he physically removes any of the IFO or VOB file/s he will disrupt the file structure of the dvd movie.
So I stated he would be better to use Dvdshrink to rip and compress as this would maintain the integrity of the dvd in question.

He didn’t ask about any IFO, BUP or VOB file and as he stated he is new to this, so he used the wrong word, which is ‘File’.