File Assoc. Prob and cant view pic's

vbimport

Hi I’m new to burning photos and vidios and I burnt some with (WinXP Pro) Nero Express 5.5.10.13 Bundled all goes well but when I view them all I see are 5 Folders: CDI EXT MPEGAV SEGMENT & VCD

I’ve tried to view the files in the folders and unfortunately I accidently associated the .dat files with note pad and the .vcd files with Media player I slipped up with the check box for “allways use the selected program to open this kind of file” I know how to re-associate the files with another program but dont know what program to associate them with, but I dont know how to unassocate them as they were originally.

Surely there is an easier way to view photos and vidios from a disk. (I have a new Fuji S3500 camera) Also I would like to move them to other family members computers

If anyone can help a dum dum like me I would appreciate it thank you in advance

You have burned a VideoCD or Super VideoCD disc. This is a disc that contains a movie of your photo’s/video’s and you should be able to play the disc with software like Microsoft Media Player or PowerDVD or something similar. You don’t have to open the individual files since all of them contain the main movie. So, just pop the disc in your player and open a media player application and tell it to open the disc. That should do the trick! If your standalone DVD player supports (Super) VideoCD you should also be able to play the disc in your DVD player.

Hi G@M3FR3@K thanks for your reply unfortunately when I put the disk in and wait an explorer window opens that has the 5 folders (not the usual box with the choice of programs) If I try to open it in a viewing program I get the 5 folders. I have tried burning my photos and vidio as data disks and it works.
Ive uninstalled Nero and reinstalled but still the same (but at least I can now view pictures if I do them as data)