Fast encoding vs DVDShrink

I’ve been using DVDShrink for the last two or three years and it was one of the best programs I used for ripping DVDs. Once it stopped being updated, I looked elsewhere and now I’m an avid DVDFab user.
One thing that amazes me about DVDFab Platinum is how fast it shrinks a dual layer to a single layer format. I usually have it done in less than a half hour. With DVDShrink, it could take two or three times as long. Anyone know why DVDFab Platinum shrinks DVDs faster than shrink? I’m just curious

[quote=TomWaddle;1916487]I’ve been using DVDShrink for the last two or three years and it was one of the best programs I used for ripping DVDs. Once it stopped being updated, I looked elsewhere and now I’m an avid DVDFab user.
One thing that amazes me about DVDFab Platinum is how fast it shrinks a dual layer to a single layer format. I usually have it done in less than a half hour. With DVDShrink, it could take two or three times as long. Anyone know why DVDFab Platinum shrinks DVDs faster than shrink? I’m just curious[/quote] [B]Maybe because the author of DVDFAB stays on top of everything thus making it a first class program :bigsmile::bigsmile::bigsmile::bigsmile: and keeping the burning engines updated, JMO[/B]

The reason DVD Shrink takes so long is because it performs a deep analysis of the DVD before compression to improve quality. Plus it has numerous quality enhancements.

It’s one of the reasons why DVD Shrink is still such a great program after all these years.

[QUOTE=linx05;1916886]The reason DVD Shrink takes so long is because it performs a deep analysis of the DVD before compression to improve quality. Plus it has numerous quality enhancements.

It’s one of the reasons why DVD Shrink is still such a great program after all these years.[/QUOTE]

So, if I rip a dual layer using DVDfab, do you think I’d get a better quality compressing it with DVDShrink? Which, by the way, I’ve seen some sites saying it has a new version of the program