FAQ's & Facts on CD/DVD Printer's?

I’m new to this new subjet on printable cd/dvd’s. I recently read about them and I took interest right away. I thought wicked now I don’t have to buy sticky labels at $20.00 for 100. No smudge solutions sound really good. (When you lend out movies to family friends, weather conditions can cause damage to the vanity of your CD/DVD’s!) :a :bow: :cop: :bigsmile:

InkJet Printers
I read that they are the best option as they print nicely and coat the disk in a lacquer protecting them from smudging.
I also read about Hub printable media is capable of being printed to the center of the CD/DVD. Which sounds great.

1. Are both Hub and Non Hub printables able to print on a CD/DVD printer.
  2. What printer do you recommend is a good buy for quality printing.
    (I’m interested in single color cartridges. Currently I use a Canon i450 and it has 1 Black and 1 Multi Colour Cartridge. Angers me alot because I tend to run out of yellow quicker than everything else and then I’m forced to replace the tank that is still full of blue and red ink.)
  3. I also read about the nonstick ridge near the hub of the CD/DVD’s. Does it interfere with the printing of images?

Thermal Printers
I read they are good for text printing and are poor at printing images. And are a no smudge solution.

1. Is the outcome physically noticeable between a inkjet and thermal print? Anyone have any sample pics?

This is a long complicated subject and you’d do best to look at printer reviews etc… on Cnet. However, I’ll tell you what I use.
First, if you’re in the States I believe that there is some Federal legislation preventing some printer companies from selling printers that print on disk due to potential copyright infringement. I read somewhere else in the 'freaks forum that this was the case.
I live in Oz…no restrictions on label-capable printers.