Fake (?) Verbatim DVD+R

vbimport

Hello, this is my first post.

I am relatively new to all this CD/DVD burning stuff.
I just recently bought my first box of blank DVDs, but prior to that I browsed these forums to find out more about the available media and the differences between them.
The general consensus was that Made in Japan DVDs were the best, so I decided to buy some of these.

So I went into Office Depot, and they had SONY, SILVER LINE, TDK, TEAC and VERBATIM DVD-Rs and DVD+Rs.
I must have gone over all the boxes and cakes on the shelves, looking for the text “Made in Japan” – but I just couldn’t find it!
All these vendors manufacture their discs in India or whatever.

Then, suddenly, I spotted a cake of Verbatim DVD+Rs, and the label clearly stated “Made in Japan.”
I was thrilled, but upon close inspection of the label I noticed that the copyright statement said “© Merbatim Corporation, 2005”.
I compared these to other Verbatim cakes, and those others (manufactured in India) clearly stated “© Verbatim Corporation, 2005”.

I also noticed that the “Merbatim” cake label was of slightly lesser printing quality when compared to the other Verbatim cake labels.

Are these “Merbatim” DVDs fake? Has anyone ever seen one of these?

I have to say though, that if these are indeed fakes, then they are very good ones: they are nearly indistinguishable from genuine Verbatims.

Hi grosz, welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

Don’t panic just yet, there are a few things we can check over to see if they’re fake, or it was just an innocent typo.

Open up the box, and have a look around the hub (centre) of one of the discs for a set of hub codes. The Verbatim disc I’m looking at now has one code on the see through part of the hub, and is Made in India.

If you find a set of numbers/letters in that area, please post them, and we can go from there :slight_smile:

Were these 8x or 16x discs?

I somehow doubt that Verbatim make innocent typos.

I rule nothing out :wink: