FADE...... is it gone?

vbimport

I rembember hearing about the protection FADE a little while ago (2 years) and it was used in some games. TAGES uses fade-like idea, that it gets harder to steer, shoot, jump and in-game graphics get worse. But i thought i heard that one of the other protections (either Securom or SafeDisc) also incoporated FADE - like ideas. Anyone know anything about it?

I’m sure that you just heard about operation flashpoint, which was using safedisc + fade. As far as I know it’s the only “normal” protection using safedisc.

I heard that game used Fade, but was it incoporated into Safedisc as a standard feature?

No.

“Adventure Company” is using newest TAGES in their new game: “ECHO - Secrets of the Lost Cavern”, and someone said it’s not working anymore with Virtual CD 7, if you want to make a backup…

I refuse to believe in such a piece of protection. Having worked for a video game company as a programmer, I find it so unlikely as to approach impossible that any company would or COULD write such protection into their game. And it would HAVE to be done by the original programmers. And it would make the game suck. Sounds like FUD to me.

Sorry Gurm aint no FUD as I Also once Believed. The problem with FADE is affects Legitimate users as well as Pirates. The main reason FADE was introduced was because of the Warez Scene. Cracked .exe’s wont cut the mustard with FADE. I had to reinstall Operation Flashpoint 3-4 times a month because of minor scratches on the disc interfering with the FADE routines. Over time the gameplay would degrade (as said) making it unplayable. I contacted Codemasters numerous times who after much deliberation sent me the GOTY version, which once Patched (v1.96) removed the need for the CD and must have removed the FADE Protection.