Facebook rolls out Marketplace feature that decides what users see based on their behavior

vbimport

#1

We’ve just posted the following news: Facebook rolls out Marketplace feature that decides what users see based on their behavior[newsimage]http://www.myce.com/wp-content/images_posts/2016/10/feed_us-95x75.png[/newsimage]

Facebook has started rolling out a marketplace feature that allows users to buy and sell second hand stuff. The marketplace becomes available this week in the United States, United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand, Facebook reports today.

            Read the full article here: [http://www.myce.com/news/facebook-rolls-marketplace-feature-decides-users-see-based-behavior-80580/](http://www.myce.com/news/facebook-rolls-marketplace-feature-decides-users-see-based-behavior-80580/)

            Please note that the reactions from the complete site will be synched below.

#2

There’s no way that I will  ever buy anything via  Facebook.


#3

[QUOTE=paulw2;2781700]There’s no way that I will ever buy anything via Facebook.[/QUOTE]
Its your fault, if you didn’t search it and look at it on Amazon or another site, it wouldn’t be trying to sell it to you on Facebook.


#4

[QUOTE=alan1476;2781701]Its your fault, if you didn’t search it and look at it on Amazon or another site, it wouldn’t be trying to sell it to you on Facebook.[/QUOTE]

I tend to make sure that I’m not logged in when browsing shopping sites.

The only time I login is when I want to buy something, then I log out afterwards.

Using a sandboxed browsing session also precludes anything persisting on the machine.

[B]Wombler[/B]


#5

[QUOTE=Wombler;2781720]I tend to make sure that I’m not logged in when browsing shopping sites.

The only time I login is when I want to buy something, then I log out afterwards.

Using a sandboxed browsing session also precludes anything persisting on the machine.

[B]Wombler[/B][/QUOTE]

:iagree: I always browse sandboxed, even when downloading and then move the downloaded files out of the sandbox, the sandbox clears automatically when the last program exits and so restarting the browser means it is from scratch. It gives a good extra layer of security against prying servers.

Not that it matters, I’m not on FB :bigsmile: