External Enclosures

vbimport

Hi Ive gone through some threads but it seems that there are no enclosures available at this time to support a nec3500 at 16x… Is that true?

If not which enclosure would allow 16x burning?

Also are there no already manufactured external nec3500’s being made?

Some threads…? There are many threads about enclosures in Recording Hardware Forum section. :wink:

Anyway, here is one link.

Edit. Search button at top of page is your friend. Use it. :cool:

does it work as well with nec 3500. I have only been looking in the nec forum.

@DogPyro,

I have been testing enclosures for the past 6 months. The only one I have repeatable performance is a case with the Prolific PL-3507 ChipSet on the BridgeBoard.

Firewire + ND3500AG = 16X
USB2 + ND3500AG = 12X

I too was reading threads about enclosures over the past couple of weeks. It finally dawned on me that to get an external 3500, all I had to do was buy the MadDog unit…which I did a couple of days ago from Office Max. With the rebate that’s running this week + one of those Officemax “code” coupons that they always send to me in the mail, the thing only cost $89.00. I downloaded the new 3500 fw and bitsetting software from the Maddog site and I’m set. 16x burns work fine as far as I can tell.

You should run Nero CD/DVD Speed to test the burst rate. It has to be 23MB/s in order to support 16X. Would love to hear your results !!!

I got my Plumax 5.25 combo USB/1394 today. The original firmware in there was 2004.02.12.062 with 20 MB/s using 1394, which I updated to 2004.09.07.162 with 21 MB/s using 1394. Both USB was only 14 MB/s. I believe the limitation is the VIA-based 1394 PCI add-on card. But since I only have a LiteOn 812S@832S in there, the burst rate is good enough, as I’ll leave the 16x burners internally. I had to use the firmware flasher 2.0.4 since 2.1.4 errored out trying to update.

Some existing threads about external enclosures:
[thread]101100[/thread] (highly recommended read!)