Exact Audio Copy Question

Question, and maybe a dumb one: how can I adjust the levels of tracks ripped from different CD’s when making a compilation disc? Essentially, I am trying to avoid the swing in levels from-track-to-track from different sources.

I see that there is a “normalize” feature, but it doesn’t seem to help much. Could be that I’m going about it wrong, too. Any help out there?

Try MP3 Gain

http://mp3gain.sourceforge.net/

It was recommended because it not only does the job (does it well) but it handles files at the folder level.

Thanks much. I’ll check it out. Appreciate the info.

I s’pose I should have pointed out that I’m working with wav files. Sorry. I’m kind of new to this.

Seems as though Mp3Gain only works with, well, Mp3’s. Any thoughts as to an alternative program that does the same job for wav files? In the event it matters, what I have done is processed the files as wav’s through Exact Audio Copy (the files were taken from iTunes, initially), then burned them to a CD, which ultimately shows a little too much variance in levels on certain tracks.

Again, I may be missing something that will be obvious to others, hence my post in the noob forum. Thanks …

The following came from Professor Honeydew in response to one of my posts. Give it a try.

Re: Increasing volume of ripped/copied CD’s

Hi, I’ve been using Wave Repair (at the suggestion of Gamma1 on this forum) and it allows you to normalise and equalise .wav files. I don’t have a portable MP3 player, but have been using these functions to make compilation audio CDs for my car and overcome the problem of big volume changes between different tracks - mostly uploaded from vinyl. It works for me.
Software is available on proper trial period for free http://www.waverepair.com

Hi SLOROBOT :slight_smile: