Ethernet problem? help guys!

vbimport

hi there well i have just installed service pack 2 xp cd to clean my computer all up and whn trying to get my thomson speedtouch router set up i couldnt get it solved so i went to my computer right clicked (novice here!)and went to my computer right clicked and went to properties and then hard ware then device manager and in other devices i have 3 devices with big yellow question marks on them they are ethernet controller, video controller and vidoe controller vga compatible, they main thing is my ethernet one right? so i double click it here is the info on it. at the top there is general then driver then details then resources.

GENERAL: device type: other devices
manufacturer: unknown

driver status: the drivers for this device are not installed.(code 28)
to reinstall the drivers for the device click reinstall driver. which i do but it doesnt work because the wizard could not find the necessary software???

also in the driver . driver provider :unknown
driver date: not available
driver version: not available
can anyone tell me how i can fix this please im sorry but i dont know very much as im a newbie thanks for taking time out to read and thanks for any info you give me back. :o)

darren.:a

The drivers should be on mobo CD or may be downloaded from manufacturer’s site for the device.

First - write down the name of the software or hardware that is giving the problem. Try to get as much information about it as possible (version, dates etc.)

Second - Go to the manufacturer’s website (might have to use someone’s computer) and download the drivers and updates for that particular item.

Third - Upload them to your computer

Fourth - run the updates one by one, checking that the problem is resolved before moving to the other.

Fifth - After all of the updates are done, write yourself a little note about this episode so that you won’t go through it again