Erasing DVD-RW: How long does it take?

vbimport

I tried to erase a Sony DMW47S1 DVD-RW disc using FileCD (part of NTI CD&DVD-Maker 6.0). It took more than 2.5 hours with the progress bar at 100% and the Start and Close buttons greyed. So my only way out was to end the task.

Using the NTI CD&DVD-Maker 6.0 application to burn a DVD after dropping 2.5 GB of files into the layout took way too long - I estimated 17 hours if I had allowed it to complete!!

How long does it really take? I’m a DVD newbie.

Any help would be appreciated.

A few seconds using [COLOR=blue]DVDInfoPro :

DVDInfoPro > Help > Formatting & Erasing[/COLOR]

I tried formatting and erasing a Sony DVD-RW in DVDInfoPro v.2.46. It took 20 seconds for a fast format and 1 hour for a full format. However, after that I still could not drag and drop files to the DVD-RW. And if I were to use a DVD burning program to burn 2.75GB of files from a layout, it would take 17 hours.

So I tried to use InCD 4.2.4.1 to format it again. According to the instructions, it would take 120 minutes for DVD-RW. But I started at 17:12 and by 21:12 the end was still not in sight! InCD was frozen on the screen although I could use the computer for other things.

Thus, I had to terminate the program the abrupt way again and then the laptop could not shut down and I had to pull the plug. Incidentally, have tried two DVD-RW discs, and both had a few scratches on the undersides after the format which were not there before.