Endless LeadIn with a LTR-32123W

Hi,

I’ve been burning with my 32123W for 6 months without problems.

I’ve recently purchased a whole pack of cheap 80-min media, 48X certified.

When burning at 32x, the LeadIn phase lasts about 10min. Ths disc spins and stops. Spins, and stops again.

After a few minutes, the burning process begins, and ends OK …

Does it all come from the media I use ? I don’t have any spare CDR to test this.

Edit : I’ve just tried to burn at 16x, same problem … a little faster, though :confused:

It’s fairly certain that it’s a media problem if it started at the same time you first used the media.

Get some other media, good quality this time. :cool:

Hmm … it’s been a while since I didn’t use some good quality media :stuck_out_tongue:

But I’ve rarely seen the drive proceed instantaneously with the LeadIn phase

Originally posted by Inertia
[B]It’s fairly certain that it’s a media problem if it started at the same time you first used the media.

Get some other media, good quality this time. :cool: [/B]

I think this way too,
I’ve had a bad experience with Lead Data CDR , and many coasters during Audio CD copies or MP3 to Audio CD process.
I’ve changed the brand of the medium and the problem has disappeared.

I have a 48125W with Firmware VS08 amd ot wont burn packard bell 80 minute 1-32x compatible cd’s. Its doing the same thing as yours just leaving the red light on for ages yet there is nothing burnt to cd.

Packard Bell CDR 80MIN 1-32x

This Disc is designed for CD-RW/COMBO Drive Only.
Disc Type, Material = CD-R, Phthalocyanine
ATIP Lead-in = 97m 15s 17f
Norminal Capacity = 702.83MB (79m 59s 73f)
Disc Manufacturer maybe = RiTEK JS-dye
SMART-BURN Speed Limit = 48X

Yet it works fine in simulation mode but not in real burn mode?

Must have been that 1 cd because i tried another and it worked fine. I will inform you if i come across that same problem with any other media. Sometimes you get defective media :frowning: