Enable 1x writting - DH16A6S (Lite-On OEM for Acer X1700)

vbimport

Hi guys,

I have an ACER X1700 (bought a month ago) and it comes with this ATAPI DVD A DH16A6S SCSI drive, with YA16 firmware and LABELFLASH function.

I foud that it has a minimum writing speed of 4x and for some applications and media I need it to write at slower speeds (1x, 2x, …).

I extracted the firmware with Flash Utility 3.0.3 in order to change it with Omni Patcher 2.6.2, but it does not seem to recognise the extracted firmware.

Do you know any other way to make the change I need? Shall I make this crossflashing you are talking about? Could you please tell me the detailed steps to do it as I am a newbie in DVD-RW flashing?

Thank you very much. :bow:

[QUOTE=cvs;2468417]I had a look at the firmware and I found absolutely nothing to suggest that your drive is not a normal DH20A6S (iHAS120) clone …[/QUOTE]

Hi cvs,

Which application did you use to check the firmware? I tried to open it with OmniPatcher but it doesn’t recognise it. :confused:

Thanks! :wink:

Hi guys,

I have an ACER X1700 (bought a month ago) and it came with this ATAPI DVD A DH16A6S SCSI drive, with YA16 firmware and LABELFLASH function.

I found that it has a minimum writing speed of 4x and for some applications and media I need it to be able to write at 1x speed.

I extracted the firmware with Flash Utility 3.0.3 in order to change it with Omni Patcher 2.6.2, but this application does not seem to recognise the extracted firmware. I also extracted the EEPROM with EEPROM Utility 5.0.1.

Can someone tell me the way to make the change I need? Shall I make a crossflashing to a difefrent firmware than the stock one? Which one? How? As I am a newbie in DVD-RW flashing I am afraid if bricking my DVD-RW unit. :confused:

By the way, the DVD-RW unit does not have any LED to be aware of a missflashing.

Thank you very much!! :bow: