Editing Package

vbimport

I have spent the last 12 months preparing footage for a tuitional DVD which is going to be for sale via the net. I have had no experience making a DVD before and neither has my husband who has been behind the camera for the past year. We’ve used a Sony HDSR12 Camera. For the past two months I’ve spent every hour God sends editing. I’ve had some tuition and as soon as I got the hang of it I soldiered on non stop. I’m about half way through but there’s a couple of months work still to do. However, I’ve hit a snag. This week I asked the lady who trained me to come round and make a test DVD to make sure it comes out with the same kind of clarity as on computer (we got a new you bute computer to handle this job). She has trained me on Pinnacle Studio 12 Untimate for editing. When she made a sample of our work into DVD she selected AV1 at full screen DV to make the file format then DVD - best quality to make the DVD. I was horrified when I saw the quality (or lack of it) on TV. It was only one step up from Skype. Sure I am used to seeing this in high def on computer and the DVD is to be made in standard def but still, it’s much worse than I expected. What I need to know is, can anyone out there tell a novist like me if there is any hope. I will ring Pinnacle but they’ve not been that good in sorting out probs in the past. Have I been guided to the wrong editing package? Or is my problem nothing to do with that?

The Pinnacle programs are not very well regarded, and would not be my first choice as an editing program, but I do not have experience with this particular one either, so take that with a grain of salt. If you are satisfied with the editing features, it may be sufficient for your needs. If you want to look at some more professional tools, get the trials for Adobe Premiere and Sony Vegas.