Edited AVI plays from hard drive but not CD

vbimport

Hello everyone. I’m brand new to all this video editing/copying/burning stuff and I’m having a problem. I tried the search, but didn’t see anything specific to my problem.

Here’s the situation: I have 5 avi files from a camcorder. The files total ~75 MB. I need to copy these to a CD so I can distribute them to others for viewing.

Problem:
The edited files play fine from the hard drive with WMP10. They also play fine from a USB jump drive. Tried using simple copy & paste through Windows Explorer to burn the files to CD-RW. When I try to play, WMP tells me it doesn’t have the right codecs. Tried same with original unedited file, same result. So it’s not an issue with the edits, it’s just a burning issue. I tried copying the 5 files straight to the disc and tried copying the folder with the 5 files to the disk. Same result for both.

Tried using Roxio Creator Classic to create a data disc and got the same results.

So far I’ve been trying to burn the files using my work laptop. It’s an HP Compaq NC6000 and I’m using the DVD/RW that came with it. Since I was able to get the files onto the jump drive I will try to burn these on my home PC using Nero. I know Nero provides the option to do a video disc. Is this what I need to do? Why doesn’t it work as a data disc? Does it make any difference if I do a CD-R instead of a CD-RW?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,
SP

Normally if you burn the avi files, as a data disc it should works, but you mentioned
codec, do you’ve tried to download a divx codec, with this you should be able to watch
the avi’s!

I haven’t tried downloading any codecs yet because the files play OK without them from the hard drive. Why would I need the codecs for files that are on the disc, but not for them on the HD?

I have seen the divx codecs available - I see divx, divx3.0 & divx5.0. What’s the difference?

SP