Dysfunctional episode menu on DL DVD

I’m new to making copies of DVDs using dual layer discs and I’ve been experiencing a problem when making backup copies of some of my DVDs on this newer media.

First of all let me add that I’ve ripped and burned many dvd’s in the past, using a combination of DVDshrink, DVDdecrypter, Nero, and most recently Ripit4me. I had always made my copies on single layer discs and reauthored them to the movie only to limit or eliminate the need for compression. Since menu function is eliminated on a reauthored disc I decided to move up in the world of DVD backups and invest in a dual layer burner to make full backups of my episodic DVDs.

I recently ripped season 1 of arrested development for backup. I used DVDdecrypter to backup the files (vob, ifo, bup) to my harddrive and proceeded to burn the discs using Nero v6.3.1.6 and my new DL burner (LG GP08LU10) and Ridata 2.4xDVD+R DL media.

The picture and audio quality on the burned discs are excellent, but the episode selection menu does not work properly on all three; all the other menus appear to work correctly. I tried reburning one of them and the same problem continues to present itself.

When I select the episode menu there is pause slightly longer than usual before it loads. Then when I try to arrow up and down through the listed episodes the curser skips between only 1 to 3 of the episodes; only allowing their selection. All of the episodes are present on the discs because when I choose the playall option they all play.

I also made a copy of dexter season1 disc4 to replace the one I had accidentally broken and it does not have this problem. However there is only one episode on that disc, so that may be why it worked correctly.

Before I burn through the rest of my DL discs trying to solve the problem I thought I’d post this to see if anyone knows how to solve this.