DW-U18A sony dvd/cd writer unit

hi,

can anybody tell me how to install this unit, please?

i have a pentium iii tower which already has an ATi dvd-rom installed within it, with what looks like two free slots above it.

i notice the sony writer has a long line a vaguely mini scart-type sockets at rear of the unit - where do i find the plugs/connections, though - somewhere neatly tied within the tower (i doubt) or do i need to purchase plugs, cables for this device, and install them first?

you can tell i am a complete beginner here - but i have ventured into the tower’s interior on several previous occasions, and am looking forward to getting to grips with the DW-U18A.

many thanks + many most sincere genuflections!

:bow:

m6

The below text is thanks to G@M3FR3@K

Installing a new drive into your computer is a pretty straightforward job. Open up your computer case and take a look at how your current DVD-ROM is attached to your computer. Generally speaking a computer has two so-called IDE controllers. You can identify these by following the big (often grey) flat cable that is attached to your hard disk(s) and DVD-ROM drive. They will lead down to your motherboard. Note: your hard disk is always attached to the primary IDE port on your motherboard, optical drives should be located on the secondary IDE port.

You will probably have one of these two situations:

1. Your DVD-ROM drive and hard disk are attached to the same cable.
  2. Your hard disk is attached to a seperate cable and so is your DVD-ROM.