DVR 110D "Not available"

Hi! I’m new to DVD burners.

Bought a Pioneer DVR 110D housed in an external case which is connected to my laptop on USB 2.0. The firmware is 1.08, I think.

It gets recognised as drive G - which I presume is secondary IDE. DMA if available is checked for both primary & secondary IDE (with the primary offering DMA 5 & secondary PIO).

I’ve tried the copy DVD function on Nero 7 but all I have got are coasters!! The burn process fails after 3% (- straight after lead-in) with the error message “DEVICE NOT AVAILABLE - G: PIONEER DVD+/- RW DVR 110D”

Have tried using different media & also the 2.4x speed but the result is the same. :confused:

Would appreciate any help from some of you pros.

Welcome to the forum

Are you trying to do an “on fly” copy?

No. The image first gets burnt on the hard disc before being copied onto the blank media. Have attached a copy of the log.

I read the log, but these logs are really confusing for me.

It can be a media problem: what media do you use?

From the error you obtain it seems that there is a problem in USB ports, so device is not recognized correctly.

Many users agree that only some enclosure are good for burners. What enclosure do you have? What chipset?

Can’t see any specs for chipsets. It’s just an enclosure - should it have a chipset???

Here are the specs for the GOODMAN External Data Storage:

Specification & Feature

>> Model No. :
-USB2.0 5.25" HDD CASE:GU2I-5C
-COMBO(USB2.0+IEEE1394) 5.25" HDD CASE:GU2C-5N

Feature:
The USB2.0/COMBO(USB2.0+IEEE1394) 5.25" HDD Case, the new look in the aluminium enclosures series for 5.25" hard drives, easy handling plus quick and simple installation, making this an user friendly and high performance storage solution. This external enclosure/casing is made for a single 5.25" DVD-RW/CDRW device.

Specifications:

• Enclosure Size: 246mm x 160mm x 55mm / 720gw

• Case Material:Aluminum with internal metal chassis for optimized heat dissapation