DVR 109 - Burning problems - Please Help me resolve

I am a newbie to this website and in need of desperate advice please.

Burner - DVR109
Firmware - 1.58 - Pioneer website
Software - 1 Click Pro + Nero

I am currently using Nero 7 and 1 Click dvd pro. I first thought my problem stemmed from the software, however since installing nero 7 it is clear that it is my burner. The problem starts when I try to back up discs, the reading is fine, however, when it comes to writing its hit and miss. (the amount of dvds I am throwing away is ridiculous) sometimes nero or 1 click will burn a small part of the disc and other times I receive errors saying something about idle and queuing for a response, its as if my burner is in an idle state and not actually receiving the communication to burn.

When it starts the lead in process my dvr109 spins up stops spins down stops spins up stops spins down stops then its that process after that which is hit and miss if it hums quietly then its burning otherwise if it doesn’t hum I get an error message.

When I back up via 1 click pro, again the reading is fine but when it comes to writing the exact thing happens. spins stops spins stops spins stops spins stops then nothing. I am using maxell,ridisc discs and having to throw many discs away. When it works it is excellent really fast and exceptionally quiet. I would really like to sort this out, any help you can give me will be great.

Check to see if DMA is on with the burner. Go to Nero Tools and run Nero InfoTool. Click on the Configuration tab and look at Pioneer if DMA is on. If not go to your computer’s System Properties\Hardware\Device Manager\IDE ATA Controller\Primary and Secondary Channels\Properties\Advance Settings and make sure Transfer Mode is at “DMA if available” on all devices. Also try other burning software. Nero is buggy so it may be the problem. ImgBurn is a freeware that works great for many here. I use CloneCD myself and my 109 burns better than my other two burners.