DVD's out of VHS Sporting Events

vbimport

Hello all, newbie here.

I want to transfer aall of my sports VHS tapes to DVD. I have one in particular that is 10 hours in length. It is hockey coverage from the Nagano Olympics.

I want to burn this onto DVD so that it is presevered for future viewing. I’m a bit worried about constant playback on VHS and the tape getting damaged or something as it is thin 10 hour tape.

I have a ADS Pyro A/V Link to convert the analog tape to digital. I am having trouble understanding how this will all work, however. I want to burn the 10 hour coverage onto DVD and have it look just like what it does if I play it on my VCR. I am unsure about spanning DVD discs as i’m sure i’m not going to get 10 hours onto one DVD. How would I go about getting all 10 hours of this coverage onto DVD like I want it? It doesn’t matter how many DVD’s I use, I want it transferred over and have the best picture quality and sound as possible.

Now, as far as the transfer of that tape to my PC. I will have to watch, or play, the entire 10 hours of coverage until it finishes transferring to the PC?? Someone mentioned on another forum about “editing” the coverage I guess into segemnts for burning. No idea what that means. I will use ULEAD version 6 and I also have Windows Movie Maker 2 to accomplish this task.

I’m basically looking for a step by step method on how to do this. I’m about ready to throw in the towel here and return the burner whenever it arrives. I bought a Plextor 712a. If I cannot get an answer here that seems easy, i’m going to just return the drive for a refund.

Thank you all in advance!

Kenny

if you can record some of the material to your hard disk as mpeg2 with 48000hz audio I think that would be a good start.

I like to break stuff up into 4400 mb chunks. It’s probably about 15 gigs worth. about 3 conventional DVD’s.

you can use mpegvcr from womble to cut it up into the segments you want.