Dvd's distort, or freezes on players

Hello guys, im new to dvd burning and having sevral problems. Im using nero 6 to burn films onto my disc, unfortunatly some film freeze part way through, this is using a emtec 4.7gb 8x dvd +r and some of my other films using emtec 4.7gb 8x dvd -r. cant seem to work out prolem and very fustrating. As i said im really new to this so i’ll try and tell you all the software im using to help with my question.
dvd burner…sony dvd rw dw -d26a
dvd player… tobshiba dvd vidio player sd-231e or bush dvd 2023
Encoder- nero 6
downloaded nero cd-dvd speed
bitsetting…-dvd rom
MID…mpomedia 080 (000)
disks currently using…emtec 4.7gb 8x dvd +r
i burn as 8x speed but have tryed to burn at 6x but encure same problem

Thanks if anyone can help me. please i m new and dont undertand to many terms people use lol
aimee

Hi Aimee,

At first glance, it could be a media problem - could you download DVDIdentifier and tell us the Media ID for those discs? Or you could have a look under Disc Info in Nero CD-DVD Speed.

Could be something else, but that’s the kind of problems I’ve had in the past, when using not-so-good discs. :slight_smile:

Edit: Disregard the above - I see you posted the MID. Try some different discs, just to rule out a media problem. :wink:

I will try buying some more its just i need to use these up as i got 100 lol. What disks are good to buy and not to costly

100, ouch! As a rule, you can’t go wrong with Verbatim discs (apart from the “Pearl White” ones) - anything made by Taiyo Yuden, or that is Made in Japan should be good too.

I’ve had good results with Maxell 8x +Rs (again, make sure they’re made in Japan!) and Sony +Rs tend to play well on my Philips standalones also.

Edit (again): the Verbatims and Taiyo Yuden-made discs may cost a little more, but they’re worth it in the long run. Sony and Maxell aren’t too badly priced.

:slight_smile: