DVDFab5 - How do I start a recording at a specific point?

vbimport

I hope this is the correct forum. I initially posted in another forum but was referred here.

I’m a new DVDFab5 Platinum user and don’t know much about DVD recording. I don’t understand a lot of what I’ve read on the forums but I’ve been reading and trying to pick up info from the context. Before I retired, I did mainframe and PC support for a Fortune 500 company, so I have some knowledge of computers. DVDs weren’t part of my reality back then. LOL

I have managed to use DVDFab5 to backup a few of my movies and they play on other DVD players, so I know it works! :slight_smile:

I’ve searched & searched the forum and the Guide but can’t seem to find an answer to my question: How do I start a recording at a specific point, i.e., I recorded a program onto a DVD, then copied it to my hard drive. It has 25 chapters. By trial and error, I found that where I want to start is a few minutes into Chapter 6.

Is there any way I can tell DVDFab to start at X-minutes into the recording? (I want to eliminate chapters 1-5 and some of chapter 6.)

Thank you for any help or guidance anyone can provide.

Regards, Susan (a VERY DVD newbie!)

System: Vista Home Premium with a DVD burner that uses single-layer discs.

I know via the “Customize” Function that you can select a starting and ending chapter within a title. So if a title contains 12 chapters, you can choose to record chapters 6 through 12 only.

But I do not believe there is any way via DVDFab to start recording a few minutes into a chapter.

There might be some editing software out there which would enable you to divide a chapter in two. But someone else would have to guide you as I have no need myself to do such editing.

Thank you so much, CaptainVideo. As much as I searched, I wasn’t able to find any option for selecting “minutes” rather than “chapters”. I’m hopeful that someone will let me know if I can use other software to edit out unwanted stuff.