DVDFAb Platinum Speed

First off I want to say Thanks for a great product!

I have a quad-core processor, but when I encode to PSP, each core is only going about 20-25%.

are there any settings that can take advantage of the CPU and use the cores to their fullest.

The closest thing I have found is XVID4PSP… It nearly pegs all four cores to about 98% and hauls ass. It’s just doesn’t do a very good job at sorting out individual titles, etc out of a DVD (i.e. TV epsisodes) like DVDFab does,

thanks!

Sounds like maybe a read speed bottleneck. What kind of encoding rate does Fab report during the process?

I have the same problem. Only about 25-50% CPU utilization. I only using iPod (MPEG4 and 5.5G H264 profiles). Both CPUs are enabled in CPU affinity. Only 10 - 15 fps in H264 conversion and 45 - 48 fps in MPEG4. The peak CPU utilization is 52%.

I’m no expert, but it may not be a strong processor alone. Your seek time on you hard drive could bottleneck you too. I have a raid config on my hard drives w/ P4 cpu and I can rip an average movie in about 5 minutes and burn it (8x dvd) at about 7 minutes.

I get variable speeds with Platinum too. I find some movies get all the way up to 17MB/sec and others get to about 5MB/sec. I cant figure that out either.

Same here. I think it has to do with the encoded bit rate of the original disc, and they vary a lot. My range for any of the DVD->DVD modes is 4-10 MB/s, MPEG-4 modes 50-70 fps.

I agree with you signals. When I installed my new 3.4 gig EE, [socket 478] I really expected my read times to speed up alot. :confused: Well they did to a point. As you said, my read speeds went from 4-7.5 MB/s, to approx. 6-10.5 MB/s with a higher avg. speed. :smiley: I believe my problem is my HDD. It’s only a 2 MB cache. So I believe that’s my bottleneck. But, it works flawlessly so since it’s not broke, I’m not fixin’ it, lol. Savey ! ~ Mike :bigsmile: