DVDFab Platinum Burn Inconsistencies

Hello! I’ve been lurking and using the search function on this forum for the past several weeks to learn about backing up DVD’s. I’m new to this and I have a question. First, my preliminary information.

My computer is an HP Media Center a1268c Desktop PC (Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005 with Update Rollup 2 and Microsoft SP 2) with a Lite-On SHM-165H6S burner with the most recent firmware (HP-16).

I have a large DVD collection and I’m interested in backing up same. I down loaded the trial version of DVDFab Platinum recently to determine if it would be the program of choice for me to backup my collection.

I want to use the best media available but I have encountered a problem. After extensive attempts, I have found that Verbatim 16x discs (DVD+R: MCC-004-000 and DVD-R: MCC 03RG20) do not work for me.

They seem to burn successfully but upon playback they freeze or stutter during playback. I have burned over 40 discs of both Verbatim –R and +R with the same results. I’ve tried burning at every available speed from slowest to fastest and tried various DVD movies to backup.

However, other media such as DVD-R: CMC MAG. AE1 (HP, 8x), DVD+R: CMC MAG-E01-000 (HP, 8x) and DVD+R-DL: RITEK-D01-001 (Memorex, 2.4x) burn acceptably with only an occasional bad burn.

The best burns for me have been with DVD+RW: SONY-S11-000 (Sony, 4x). These discs burn perfectly every time!

Aside from the Sony discs, all the others mentioned above are bottom line cheap media and I would prefer to use the best media available. I worry that cheap media will not last as long. I also am worried that the Sony rewritable discs will not be suitable for long term storage either (as compared to comparable write once discs).