DVDFab copying DVDs only in 4:3. Why?

Okay… I’m a novice at this. Tryin’ out the DVDFAB trial download but having a wee spot of trouble.

Seems when I put send/convert/transfer a ltbxDVD to my harddrive, or ltbx DVD direct to PSP mpeg-4 conversion, D-Fab squeezes the film to 4:3… even though the preview window shows the LTBX version. How can I fix this? I have tried many DVDs and when I click DVD to Mobile (PSP)… the chart list aspect as 4:3.

Hmmm?

I think you will find that depends on the source DVD. Some DVDs listed as “widescreen” are actually a widescreen picture in a 4:3 box. You can tell a little about what you have by looking at the video display on the Crop Settings page in DVD to Mobile. Set crop to Automatic and see if there are 2 horizontal and vertical yellow lines surrounding the actual active video of the movie. If so, the original is flat letterboxed widescreen and will show as 4:3 before cropping and probably 1.85:1 after cropping. The Advanced Resolution Options button on the Conversion Settings page will bring up a display that shows the aspect ratio of the active video before and after cropping. There are many variations on this. Try to buy DVDs that say “Anamorphic Widescreen” for the best video quality (fewer bits encoding black bars=more bits for active video).

When I go to the crop settings it is hideous.
I see only a small portion of the actual picture (maybe 20 percent) in the top left corner. And yes, there are two yellow lines but no where near enough picture to play with re-sizing / re-boundarying them.

But even if the ltbx image is in a 4:3 frame, why doesn’t DVDFab just keep the black bars instead of squishing the picture?