DVDFab and MIRC stuff

I have a question.

If I wanted to download something from MIRC and watch it on DVD but it came to me on TAR format-- do I use dvd fab for anything?

or what do I do from step one as I am new to this?

Thanks so much-

BTW- I also did have probs with dvdfab decrypter 4, it wouldnt rip Harry Potter. I am trying Gold version now.

New here, and Merry Christmas!

Godivafilm

Welcome to the forum, let us know how the DVDFab Gold works for you.

[QUOTE=godivafilm;1960541]I have a question.

If I wanted to download something from MIRC and watch it on DVD but it came to me on TAR format-- do I use dvd fab for anything?

[/QUOTE]

Anything you receive in a TAR file (called a tarball) will generally have to be extracted. It is an archive format similar to ZIP and RAR, but not compressed. An appropriate tool for extracting the file(s) from the tarball is WinRAR (assuming you are running Windows). Once you have extracted the file(s), what you do next depends on what format the video is in. If it is a DVD layout (VOB, IFO, and BUP files), then you can use Nero to burn a video DVD from that directly. If instead you find file types such as AVI, MPEG, or other a/v formats, you will need DVD authoring software (such as Ulead MovieFactory) to convert this to a proper DVD layout.

You probably will not need to use DVDfab with this.

Regarding Harry Potter, make sure you are using at least version 4.0.2.0 beta of DVDfab (whether Platinum, Gold, or Decrypter). Earlier 4.x.x.x releases had some problems. Version 4.0.2.5 beta is out now, so I’d try that.

Well, usually I see an ISO file?? Two files I see after I have undone the Tar file. But then I dont know what to do.

As for dvdfab- GOLD worked perfectly for Harry Potter.

[QUOTE=godivafilm;1960894]Well, usually I see an ISO file?? Two files I see after I have undone the Tar file. But then I dont know what to do.

As for dvdfab- GOLD worked perfectly for Harry Potter.[/QUOTE]