DVD5 option is missing. Only DVD9 available

vbimport

Ok Guys,

Im trying to restore a neighbours PC to allow it to burn files to DVD. Its a crappy DELL with Loads of free ware pre-installed. He has been using Roxio software which I have no experience with so I suggested we install Nero and once we got it to work we would remove Roxio altogether as he dosen’t have the installation CD to re-install it. I think this may be needed as it comes up with 3 error messages every time its shut down.

However,

I had hoped to avoid these issues by using the software I supplied as its worked well for me on numerous PCs with various operating systems. However it will only recognise DVD9 which I cant seem to change. Even the drop down menu in Nero only shows DVD9.

The Dell machine has XP installed but I cant provide any further details as Im not at its location and can only attempt to fix it once a week when im in the area. Any suggestions that you think may resolve this problem are much appreciated.

Thanks for your time .

Hmm Nero 6.6.0.0

I have just tryed it on this laptop as well but it dosent appear to be Vista compatible. :frowning: But I don’t think its Nero TBH. As the software works fine on my XP Machines back home.

That’s very odd - which section of Nero are you using (might help us see more clearly where you’re coming from).

Also, if we can’t help immediately, and chance you can grab a screeshot next time you’re at the sick PC?

:slight_smile:

Edit: which version of Nero, as well? I have 7 & 8 installed, so maybe I can have a poke around :wink:

OK here’s a screenie from Nero 8 in Vista.

See the drop-down in the bottom right with the choice of DVD9 and DVD5 - you only get DVD9 there as an option?

I don’t think it matters that you only get DVD-9. As long as you have only enough data to fill a DVD-5, you’re good.

Try updating to the latest Nero version and see if it fixes things. It may be an odd bug that only appears with some drives/systems.