Dvd writer/cd writer problem

Hi everybody!

WE just recently got a new computer. It came with windows home edition, then i upgraded it to professional. The computer has a dvd-rom drive and a hp dvd writer/cd writer combo drive. Now the problem is i can’t get the burner to burn anything. When i open Nti cd maker 6 platinum it says No Supported Drive Detected! I have also tried Nero and an older version of Nti but still no better results. Any help would be greatly appreacated.

I am not an expert in DVD writers ‘yet’ but this is what I would try first:
1.Uninstall Nti…& Nero and reinstall them again(if they were already on your system when you upgraded windows)
2.Uninstall the IDE controllers and reboot and wait for windows XP pro to recognise your drives again.
For uninstalling the IDE controllers:
Right click on ‘my computer’>>Properties>>hardware>>device manager>>click the plus sign besides 'IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers>>right click on Primary and secondary IDE Channel>>uninstall>>Reboot
Hope this helps.

Ok i did that. Its just back to how it was before again. It reconizes the dvd rom and the other one it labels as DVD/Cd-rw but does not ask for a disk or anything when you click on it. Would the Universal Serial bus Controller have anything to do with it?

Have you seen if your drive has a yellow exclamation mark near it in start >> control panel >> system >> hardware >> device manager? Have you tried uninstalling/reinstalling the drive?

Could the Usb controller have something to do with it?

It has the drive listed and i tried installing/uninstalling it. The usb controller has a yellow mark beside it.

I tried uninstaling it then reinstaling it again and now its calls it a “cd drive”

I tried uninstaling then reinstaling the drive. Now it has it labeled as a cd-rom.

Did you install your chipset drivers? If not, please try to do so.