DVD tracing

vbimport

I am a television writer and I’m trying to come up with a scenario where someone is sent a DVD that was burned on a laptop and the person who receives it must trace the DVD back to the person who created it. Is this possible? Remember, this is for television and so it only has to be minimally feasible. Thank you.

This should get the Scanmeisters in here.

They can trace the type of disk used and the drive and/or burning software used.

Of course, drives, software and the disk-blanks can be ubiquitous but some disk-blanks are [I]tres[/I] expensive (“archive certified”) and some collectors might use those (“I must possess the most detailed digital images of every Louvre masterpiece for all time!”) or perhaps a gov’t official (or admin staff) would have access to those limited supplies.

Bullet casings contain a unique imprint of the firing mechanism. Bullets themselves will contain unique striations. Supposedly.

I don’t think the ‘burned’ disk would contain anything with absolutely certain uniqueness - our Scanmeisters can address that.

However, just like a Selectric or a typewriter can leave a telltale mark based on a chipped character or bent key, there is a Grab Mechanism (the spindle) that the DVD Drive uses to snag the disk and clamp it for high-speed spins. It’s possible that, inside the center-hole, there could be a telltale “grab” mark (striations), or perhaps the outer edges of the disk might have a unique scrape.

Burned DVD’s do not normally have identification marks that can be traced back to an individual or even to the hardware that was used to burn it. Some programs, like OptiDrive Control, will show the [B]type[/B] of drive that burned a disc but in my experience, this doesn’t work very often, and when it does, it only shows up on discs that were burned on very old burners, like my NEC 1300a dating back to 2003.