DVD to mobile issues with 6.0.1.6 beta

I guess I will continue to point out these issues until they are resolved. I have been asking for one of these bugs to be fixed for over 19 months and another for over 14 months. The last time I pointed them out in a post Ting responded.

1. With DVD to Mobile – PSP true cropping (like 480x208) is only available in “psp.h264.firmware2.8+”. It is not available in any of the other presets. This has been the case at least since March 2008 (4.1.1.5 was the first version I was aware of that had this issue). It has been 14 months and I have mentioned it many times with it never being resolved. The cropping issue is a bug. You should be able to crop videos for at least 3.30+ and 2.80+. Before 4.1.1.5 true cropping was available with 3.30+. Why would anyone want to encode black bars for a 2.35:1 movie? The file sizes are bigger and it just isn’t necessary. 3.30+ handles cropped videos 480 pixels wide just fine. The PSP will handle cropped videos at least after 2.80. I have run hundreds of cropped videos in many versions of firmware after 2.80 (including 3.30 and the latest 5.50)

2. 2 pass still does not work for PSP as well. 2 pass has never worked for me consistently on longer films with the PSP presets. I started encoding for PSP with DVDFab in Nov. 2007. On shorts it works but rarely on longer films. I stop trying it because I was wasting time. It hardly ever works for regular length movies. I have mentioned this issue many times in the last 19 months and it has never been resolved. I have tried with multiple machines and multiple OSes (WinXP/Vista/Win7) with no success.

Following is problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: fabCore.exe
Application Version: 1.0.2.3
Application Timestamp: 4a010ea3
Fault Module Name: msvcrt.dll
Fault Module Version: 7.0.7100.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 49eea5fe
Exception Code: 40000015
Exception Offset: 0006611c
OS Version: 6.1.7100.2.0.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033