DVD Technology. A retrospective

Now that I’ve been working with home DVD authoring for a few years, and have gone though all the hurtles and played the trivia games involved in this pioneering development, there are just a few things I want to get off my chest.

First, the technology is amazing. The picture quality is unbeatable. The price is very economical.

My biggest concern, and it’s a big one for me, are the problems with the burnable DVD media (yah, kind of important). What is with this stuff? Do you remember when CDs became burnable? There were very few compatibility issues and I can still listen to the cheapest CDs I burned back in 1997 with no problems.

My DVDs are deteriorating all over the place! What happened to all that hype about “Preserve your memories, transfer your home videos to DVD so they’ll last forever!” Ha! I am now the proud owner of no less than 30+ DVD+R discs in my archive, burned less than two years ago, and are completely useless. Oh yah, they worked great after I burned them, but at some point the harsh conditions of room temperature and case storage had eaten away the reflective data layer. I can’t believe I’ve worked around all the book-type and udf/iso file system problems, the endless trips to Circuit City and popping the disc in every player they had, only to get halted by the faulty manufacturing of the blank media.

I’ve always kept up on “what’s the best kind of DVD media” on the internet. First it was Ritek, then when Taiyo Yuden came out that’s what everybody likes. Only then did they start talking about “archival-quality dye”. So what does that make everything before that??? Everybody seems to like Verbatim. Back in my trial days a few years ago I bought 3 Verbatim DVDs and never wanted to buy Verbatim again.