DVD stopped working; CD is working

I’m not sure if this is where I am suppose to post this question to. I have looked around and this seems to be the place. Please let me know if it gets transferred to another forum site. Having said that…here’s my problem. My CDRW is working fine. However, my DVD has stopped working. Nothing shows up when I click on the D drive. Sometimes it says “The DVD inserted in the drive is not recognized.” I think I have used the DVD (it is not recordable) a total of 5x (if that) and have had it for 2 years in January. I use the CD part requently, but it is working fine. It is a Samsung CDRW/DVD SN-324S. I am a novice when it comes to this stuff, so please speak in very layman terms. BTW, I have downloaded and installed the upgrade to this and it is still not working. Thanks in advance for your help–Shoelace

Could be defective drive if you have not added a conflicting software. Try the drive in another PC. Use a factory DVD movie.

Hi and welcome to the forum,

to verify if its faulty or not try to boot from a bootable DVD.

I just posted about something similar on another thread.

I have a Toshiba laptop with a combo drive that had exactly the same difficulty. I was advised to clean it using some canned air and that cured the problem. I was advised NOT to use a disk cleaner.

Hello, just wanted to say that I think that I have a similar problem, and I’d appreciate it if someone has any insights.

I also have a Samsung, a Writemaster 164 in my case, for DVD/CD burning. I have an old HP laptop that I was thinking about replacing, since I’ve added just about every doggle possible to it, but I’m kind of fond of it now, and the only thing that was missing was DVD burning, so when I saw an inexpensive external burner this weekend, I thought I’d get it and put off replacing the laptop for a year or two.