Dvd starts skipping about an hour into movie

vbimport

Hi and thanks for reading. Sorry if this is redundant and I have searched but just not found close enough details to what I need. I have converted an .avi file to dvd using DVD Flick. The .avi plays perfectly all the way through on the pc so I know the download is OK. From there I used imgburn to add the video_ts folder and burn to dvd. The dvd plays great on home player for about an hour or so and then skips for about 30 minutes but plays ok near the end again. I’ve burned 2 copies and both dvds have the same problem. Since this is my first attempt I don’t have any other history to go by. Here are the rest of the specifics:

dvd drive: TSSTcorp CD/DVDW SH-w162c

imgburn settings: write speed set to auto

File System = ISO9660 + UDF
UDF Revision 1.02
I am using the Sony dv-r (4.7gb) for media (it’s the only choice they had at Wally World the other night)

Pretty much I think I’ve left everything alone and gone with recomendations from here (which totally rock by the way - you all ARE the best).

On another animated movie for the kids 3 times now the burn has blown with error messages.

Soooo, my real question is do you all think this is the Sony media vs. Verbatim? I have no problem trying the other brand provided I can find them but beyond that I’m kind of wondering if it would be better to just suck it up and purchase a new dvd player (old one is Zenith ZNA-311) that has the windows media pack AND plug in for flash drive. I’m also wondering if burning at super slow speed (maybe 4x or 6x) would help. I’m hoping it’s not the dvd drive here. Any opinions, help, other ideas, suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks -

Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

Most of times this is due to a bad burned disc, and most of times the cause of the bad burn is the media (a low quality disc) or the wrong burning speed.