DVD SPDIF vs. DVD Analog--Newbie Explanation Please

I have a Pioneer DVR-108 drive which doesn’t have SPDIF…Right now its hooked up to my onboard audio via IDE cable and selected in properties “Enable Digital CD Audio for this CD-Rom Device” I’m Looking to get a SBA2 ZS card and would like to get 5.1 with this dirve. I’m an extreme audio newbie and know absolutely nothing about pc audio. First question…once onboard is disabled and card is installed can you still use IDE cable to get audio? Or must you use an analog cable…? Next question…what is the diffeerence between hooking up a dvd drive via SPDIF or Analog cable…is the sound significantly different to the human ear? Lastly…my RealtekAC97 onboard audio configuration is set for 6 channel mode for 5.1 speaker output. I have a 5.1 speaker system hooked up using all 3 of my onboard card jacks. Am I currently getting true 5.1 audio with my current set-up? And if I am…would getting a SBA2 ZS actually be downgrading my dvd audio quality?

I know these are a lot of questions but any responses would be appreciated…
THX… Newbie looking for Answers…

Onboard audio is digital and so is the digital out put. It’s all the same just some audio cards may prefer the digital only, it’s really a matter of system config than quality to the human hearing since it’s basically the same.

I keep it on IDE as it’s much easier and no extra wire which are a pain to unplug (not good if you swap drives a lot like I do).

The 5.1 is based on your speakers & audio card, as to how you want the audio to be transfered direct onboard or digital output is up to you, they won’t sound any different.

hi, i do not agree 100% with the last quote. It’s far more difficult and technical if u want to have a decent explanation but as far as I’ve tested it out it comes to this: