DVD Software?

What is all the software I will need to backup, copy, and burn DVD’s? Im new to this DVD thing and this is my first DVD burner so if someone could tell me all the software I will need and what it does that would be great, thanx for all the help.

Follow a Guide :slight_smile:

Well if you didn’t go ahead and look at the guides I can tell you that DVD X Copy Express is the best one for LiteOn burners if you got one. If not though you can use DVDFab, download here, to make a backup image and use InstantCopy, download here, the link is on the right, named try and buy. Use that to burn it onto 1 or more DVDs, depending on how long the movie is and if you want everything or just the movie. That’s everything, you might want to find out what type of DVDs your DVD player used though. Most use DVD-R.

Well I dont have a lite on burner, I have the plextor 8X internal 708 burner. So are you saying that I cant use DVD+r’s? Bc I would rather use DVD+r’s over DVD-r. I would use a PS 2 to play the dvd’s plz give me the heads up on that.

I’m not sure what formats a PS2 can read because I don’t have one, but 86% of all DVD players can read DVD+R, so you have a good chance. As for the DVD X Copy Express, they say it is only recommended that you have a LiteOn because that is all they officially support. You can still try but “you may not have working DVDs and may possibly damage your burner,” at least according to them.

If someone could plz give me the heads up on what DVD+R’s are the best for playing in the PS2, Xbox, and DVD players. I dont want to go out and buy any until I know for sure.

Here is an alternative route. DVDDecrypter, DVDShrink, and a good burning program like Nero. These three work fine for me, and the first two are free.

DVDShrink 3 is a fine transcoder, especially when you use the Deep Analysis mode. If for some reason, Shrink can’t handle a particular dvd, you use DVDDecrypter to rip it to the hard drive, then use Shrink.

www.dvddecrypter.com