DVD software editor

There doesn’t seem to be any information in your post enquirer. A glitch in the forum software perhaps?

Try posting again in this thread.

Edit: I’ve merged your two posts together now.

With several recorded DVD-RWs to edit and then transfer to DVD-Rs what is the best software to copy/rip DVD-RW to hard drive, edit then finally burn to DVD-R. A simple program to edit out a few bits and then copy them to the DVD-R is all that is needed.

What is the difference (if any) between a software editor, such as Roxio purchased from PC World and that which is downloaded from the internet. There are software editing programs available on ebay for £5. Are they any good? Very naive questions but an absolute beginner.

Thanks for your help.

One possible way is to use DVD Shrink’s Re-author mode.

Have a look at this guides:
http://dvdshrink.info/compilation.php
http://club.cdfreaks.com/f72/guide-dvd-shrink-part-4-advanced-re-authoring-77120/

Copying DVD-RW’s to the hard drive is a simple task, since they are not encrypted. You can just do a copy and paste to a folder on the hard drive. Any dvd ripping program will also work, like DVDDecrypter or DVDFab HD Decrypter.

Once there you can edit. What format is your video in now? If they are avi files, you could use AviDemux for simple cuts. It is free to use. If your videos are now in dvd-video format, I’d use a program designed specifically for cutting mpeg2 found in dvd-video. Womble Mpeg Video Wizard DVD and VideoReDo TV Suite are two good ones. Neither are free, but there are fully functional trials you can download and see if they meet your needs.

Feeling totally flustered after hours of this.

I really need someone to take me through this step by step.

1st - Is it possible to use Windows Movie Maker to edit? It seems to say it does, however question two.